FIFA World Cup South Africa 2010

2010 FIFA World Cup logo

2010 FIFA World Cup logo

The FIFA World Cup was held in various towns and cities in South Africa, including Pretoria and Johannesburg. It took place from the 11th June- 11th July 2010 and was a truly exciting event.   The 36 International teams who played this year included Brazil, Spain, Italy, USA, Mexico and South Africa. Football fans joined the already football-mad South Africans for what was a truly international event.

Spain won the World Cup with the Netherlands, Germany and Uruguay as runners up (in that order).

Did you know that there are 11 official languages in South Africa? They are recognised to be Afrikaans, English, Ndebele (isiNdebele), Northern Sotho (Sesotho sa Leboa), Sotho (seSotho), Swati (siSwati), Tsonga (Xitsonga), Tswana (Setswana), Venda (Tshivenda), Xhosa (isiXhosa) and Zulu (isiZulu). Zulu is the most spoken official language in South Africa, but many South Africans are trilingual, speaking Afrikaans, English and another of the official languages.

If you were one of the lucky ones who went to South Africa for the World Cup, did you pick up any Zulu?  Why not prolong your amazing experience there and try to speak a bit of one of the official African languages and get to know more about the South African culture.

Find out the best and most innovative ways to learn to speak an official South African language>>

Find out more about the South African culture>>

Get the language advantage.   Get your competitive advantage.